3 Scary Consequences Of Driving On A Suspended Licence That You Have To Learn

Driving Under the Influence

The state of Pennsylvania gets more penalties for DUI than the other states of the union and, as you’re probably aware, first offenders get their licenses suspended for a period of time. If your license is suspended for this reason but your suspension period is already over, you still need to wait for your license to get to your before you actually start driving away. Failing to comply with this may result in a considerably large fine and mandatory jail time, but everything is handled in a casa by case basis.

The only thing you can really do when facing this kind of situation, or any other legal situation by that matter, is to be as informed as you can in order to prevent any unfortunate consequences. This is why I bring you a list of possible penalties you may face, in the state of Pennsylvania, in case you’re caught driving on a suspended license for DUI or DUI-refusal.

  1. Applying is not the same as having: The first and most important thing to know is that if you don’t have a license with you, there is no way on earth you can lawfully operate a vehicle. Even if your application is being processed or if you know that you have been approved fro a driver’s license and it is on its way, you’re not allowed to drive unless you have the appropriate documentation with you. So, it is best not to test your luck.
  2. Don’t drink and drive: As simple as that; drinking and driving not only can bring you serious legal consequences but it can also have fatal results for yourself and those around you. Should you get caught Driving After Imbibing, Driving Under the Influence, or Driving Under Suspension- DUI related, you can get a $500 fine and a mandatory jail time of 60-90 days.
  3. Carry a license at all times: Driving Under the Influence, Driving After Imbibing or Driving Under Suspension-DUI related, can be bad, but if you’re caught driving without a license and you have more than .02 BAC, then you will face a $1000 fine and at least 90 days of mandatory jail time. Should any of this happen, contact Bigda law, for professional advice.